Exercise

Image

I’ve been thinking a lot about exercise lately.  Thinking I said, though unfortunately, not exercising itself.  I promise, next week, when it is slightly warmer, I will be back in the 106 degree hot yoga class and showing up for the spin classes and altogether getting exercising more.

I looked up the definition of exercise on the free dictionary and like what I found.  It makes me hopeful — the act of employing and/or putting into play for example.  Perhaps if I employ a plan and/OR put it into play, I will achieve my goal.

Or there’s #2 definition:  discharging a duty and/or function.  I suppose it is somewhat of a duty to exercise but more of a function.  Putting my winter limbs back into summer function mode.

And then #3 is quite optimistic!  An activity requiring physical and/or mental exertion, especially when performed to maintain fitness.  That definition presumes I’m already fit so I just have to maintain it.  So far, I like # 3 the best.

#4 is pretty much the same but implies an increase in skill level brought about by employing the activity.

#5:  An activity with a specified aspect.  Not sure what that means, but I think it means Bikram is an exercise in self-improvement.  That’s really nice.

#6 is ceremonies, graduation exercises, speeches and presentations.  Those are generally good things.  Although I can’t imagine wearing a cap and gown to either Bikram or spinning, not to mention listening to a speech during either.  However, the Bikram instructor is arguably a presenter.

In any event, I’ve been thinking a lot about exercise recently and all the good things it brings with it.  Now I just need to put the thoughts to action.

1. An act of employing or putting into play; use: the free exercise of intellect; the exercise of an option.

2. The discharge of a duty, function, or office.

3. Activity that requires physical or mental exertion, especially when performed to develop or maintain fitness: took an hour of vigorous daily exercise at a gym.
4. A task, problem, or other effort performed to develop or maintain fitness or increase skill: a piano exercise; a memory exercise.
5. An activity having a specified aspect.
6. exercises A program that includes speeches, presentations, and other ceremonial activities performed before an audience: graduation exercises.
UPDATE:  Since first publishing this a couple of days ago, the Exercise blog has received several likes from fellow bloggers and I posted a college photo of me on the dance team on facebook.  Old photos have a way of pushing don’t they?  So I’m going to hit it on Monday.  And you can hold me to it.
I also forgot to add a song list to this post, so here goes, and I’m starting with the “cheese”:
Let’s Get Physical, Olivia Newtown John
YMCA, The Village People
Maniac, Michael Sembello (from Flashdance and not technically about exercise but come on — gotta be in here doesn’t it?)
Pump It, Black Eyed Peas
We Are the Champions, Queen
And for a book suggestion about exercise, I recommend Gold, by Chris Cleave (author of Little Bee).  Gold follows three cyclists training for the Olympics and entangling themselves in a love triangle to boot.
Leave a Reply

