Oh Donna! The Goldfinch

Congratulations to Donna Tartt for winning the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for The Goldfinch. http://www.pulitzer.org/node/8501

daeandwrite

Image   

   When I was very young, my mother had a collection of 45s and an old phonograph.   When my sisters and I grew bored with tormenting each other or the guinea pig that tried to hide under the playhouse to get away from us, we would haul out the little record box and turntable and fight over which song to listen to.  One of my favorites was a fabulous song by Ritchie Valens called “Donna.”

    I had a girl, Donna was her name.

    Since she left me, I’ve never been the same.

    But I love that girl.  Donna, where can she be?

    (You’re probably singing the refrain to yourself right now:  where can she be?)  Even the boys on the baseball teams that played Babe Ruth at Tates Creek High School’s field would sing “Oh, Donna,” serenading the girl…

View original post 900 more words

Leave a Reply

